events, Giveaways, release blitz, reviews

The Weight of Life by Whitney Barbetti – Release + Review

TheWeightOfLife.Ebook-Amazon

Title: The Weight of Life
Author: Whitney Barbetti
Release Date: June 28, 2017
Add to Goodreads


Synopsis

Mila

“Don’t let go.” Those were my first words to him, as I hung over the side of a London bridge. The words I would soon say again, in a moment that didn’t involve bridges, but something much more fragile: my heart.

He held onto me for three weeks, in a time when I needed to be held. Needed to connect to someone who understood how loss tunneled unrepentantly through the fabric of your soul.

Although he said he’d stay, we both knew he wouldn’t. I had already survived one loss—I didn’t know if I’d survive another.

Ames

She spun into my life like a tornado of smiles and chatter and everything else I’d long avoided, with a persistence that I admired, albeit begrudgingly. She broke down each neat wall I’d constructed without even trying. Her presence alone caused me to remember what it felt like to smile, to look forward to what the day would bring.

But it was only supposed to last three weeks.

“Don’t let go,” she’d pleaded.

I’d promised her I wouldn’t—but I would. I didn’t have a choice.

Buy Links

TWOL Coming Soon.jpg

Free on Kindle Unlimited ! 

Amazon

Review

“She’d looked ethereal, the sun pouring over her like it followed her wherever she traveled.”

Any author I’m friends with knows I’m a HUGE fan of Whitney Barbetti. The way she’s able to create such complex and diverse characters in each of her books is phenomenal. Contemporary romance is a new genre that Whitney has started to write about and she does it SO flawlessly, almost like she’s been doing it for ages.

We meet Mila, Jude’s sister from The Bleeding Hearts series (don’t worry, this is a standalone), and she’s in London writing the sights for her brother’s blog. If anyone’s read my updates, I mentioned earlier that from the very first paragraph, Mila has you hooked to her story. You just can’t help but being on #TeamMila all throughout the book.

She meets Ames in chapter one, and although we don’t know much about him, he really stands out. Not because he’s devastatingly handsome, but this angsty, rude guy is very heroic. A guy who is so perfect for our Mila, but he just doesn’t know it yet. Ames took my heart when he kissed Mila for the first time. It’s how I dream to be kissed for my first. 

“Mila, when I kiss you, I promise you— you won’t be thinking that I might. I’ll just do it. When you’re least expecting it.”

Lotte, or Charlotte, is someone I’ve been paying close attention to in this book. She’s an interesting woman, and for the FIRST time ever, I’ve found a character that is like me. She’s an old soul, 22, really intuitive and is small, graceful (I have good posture, but whatever) she reminds me a lot of me. I honestly cannot wait for book 2.

You get a good feel of London in this novel, and as true Whitney nature, you always get the good parts of the “touristy” places. I really enjoyed reading this, but a sadistic part of me LOVES the gritty, heart-wrenching books Whitney is known for. At the same time, however, I got deep, real emotions in this book from reading it, and I did cry because I’m such an emotional sap.

If you do read this after the Bleeding Hearts series, like I did, it’s a great way to mend that sore heart of yours. And maybe I’m biased, but I think Whitney deserves a best-seller rank for this.

“I hated that word. Falling. It sounded so involuntary, as if this was an accident— and calling what I was feeling an ‘accident’ cheapened its experience.”

About the Author

author

Whitney Barbetti is really, truly awful at writing in the third person, so we’re just going to change this bio up a bit and write it as first person.

I am married with two boys. When I’m not changing diapers or cutting food into tiny bites, I escape to Starbucks for hours. My blood pressure actually drops the moment I walk in, hear the baristas call my name, and inhale the aroma of coffee beans. And I don’t even like coffee.
I love music and have a playlist for everything. Queen is my very favorite.
I like watching creepy shows when I am home alone but then I instantly regret them once my mind starts breeding irrational fears. I try to channel my fears into my books as a way to cope.
I have about 20 bacon things in my fridge.

Facebook | Twitter | Website | Newsletter | InstagramGoodreads

Giveaway

The Weight of Life Release Blitz

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00014]

IGP Logo

Leave a Reply

